Monday, November 5, 2012

When Will the Next Book Come Out?

A few weeks ago, I finished Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan and, after I finished crying, I started panicking about how long I was going to have to wait to read the next installment in her Lynburn Legacy series. In tribute, I have put together a list of seven series installments (four novels, three graphic novels) whose endings made me howl with rage because I wanted more, More, MORE!

Unspoken – Sarah Rees Brennan
My desire to immediately read the next book in this series was not simply because of a cheap cliffhanger. Rees Brennan created wonderful characters who speak in her trademark screwball-with-a-twist style, a thrilling mystery, and a terrifying climax that hinges on fully realized emotional stakes. And if you think I’m alone in my reaction to this book, check out the gifs on the top Goodreads reviews of the 2nd installment (coming out next year):

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) – Laini Taylor
Ditto this book on the emotional stakes. Holy moly. The world Taylor creates is such a fresh take on mythology and religion that it’s wonderful to get lost inside. Her skillful use of language means that the prose is also wonderful to get lost inside.

Girl – Blake Nelson
This isn’t exactly the first book in a series, but it does end with the tantalizing line: "...But of course that's not what happened. Not even close." And then I had to wait FIFTEEN YEARS to find out what did happen! Thankfully, Untold, the next Lynburn Legacy book, has a release date for next year. Wait, did I just jinx it? NOOOOO!!!!! 

The Boyfriend List: 15 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me, Ruby Oliver (Ruby Oliver #1) – E. Lockhart
This one is all about character. Ruby Oliver is so fun to spend time with, and she gets herself into such entertaining scrapes with her friends and many suitors, that you just need more, more, more. She is like your new cool best friend; once you get your first taste, you want to keep hanging with her all through high school.

Locke & Key, Vol.1: Welcome to Lovecraft – words by Joe Hill, art by Gabriel Rodriguez
The combination of gorgeous art and amazing storytelling make this terrifying series one that’s hard to hold out for until the trade paperbacks are published. There’s always a small voice whispering, “Don’t you want to find out what’s happening in Locke & Key? Just buy the comic book...muah ha ha ha ha...” But even if you listened to the voice, you would still have to wait until the next comic book came out. There’s always waiting! But there’s also always more of the rich Locke and Key universe, with its tantalizing secrets. Thus, the minuses and pluses of being hooked on a serial.
Morning Glories, Vol. 1: For a Better Future – words by Nick Spencer, art by Joe Eisma
Again, gorgeous art, kickass storytelling. What could be better? Wait, there’s also an evil school where the teachers kill the students, mysterious mind control, and twins? You’re right; that is even better.

Invincible: Ultimate Collection, Volume 1 – words by Robert Kirkman, art by Ryan Ottley and Cory Walker
The aw-shucks-gee-golly-whiz tone of this comic lulls you into thinking it's just another Superman-esque slice of Americana. But then it explodes into disturbing and graphic violence (beautifully drawn, of course), and you realize that the sugar-sweet tone is there to balance out the blood and gore. The combination creates one of the most thrilling, heartbreaking, and often hilarious ongoing comics out today.

No comments:

Post a Comment